zines for social change and expression

Awesome Survivors- Oh Hell Yeah

Sometimes people are awesome.

I ran a Survivor Zines workshop at the Women’s Library Zinefest that was really inspiring for me. Ya’ll packed the place out! Even though I’m always nervous before running a workshop or speaking publicly about being a survivor I was able to leave this event ready to take on the world. It feels to me like there is an eagerness for a new (and yet infinitely old in its routes) feminist based survivor and allies activism, a movement to speak out about our experiences and challenge a society and culture that repeatedly silences us. I want to thank everyone in the workshop, especially the people who talked to me afterwards, for their kindness as well as their courage. I hope that those of you who came were able to find positives in it and that maybe it will have spawned more activist resistance in you!

In other news, it is my last month in the grand (ok, so maybe more petite, lovely and cliched) city of Brighton! I am going to be on a two month hiatus, first going to the USA and Canada (let me know asap if you’re in this neck of the woods and want me to send you zines for cheaps) and escapades up in northern England until settling into the confusing disconnections of logic and city planning that is London. Unfortunately, this means I won’t be distroing any zines for the entirety of August and parts of September. Dessole! However, the plan’s to spend some time catching up and writing some zines to birth to you all soon.

As one last plug- all yous interested in survivor & allies activism, get in touch and let me know if there’s any ideas you have, events you’re keen to create, things that you already have going on, or chats you want to engage in. If you’re able to come to London, there is also The Flip Side: When Sex is Not Okay… Art Gallery Night! on July 22nd at the Lambeth Women’s Project (Oh and to be extra sneaky, one last-last plug– somewhere along the line facebook has inserted its presence too much in my life, so Sarah Tea-Rex has tea infused my way into facebook fanpages, “like” me if you’re into that kind of thing).

Leave a Reply

